Turning Eight-and-Twenty

by misslampa

Oh, but I'd give anything to look this adorable again!

 

I know I’ll change my mind about this in a few years – like when I hit the big three-oh or when my lower spine starts giving me a problem or when my hair begins to turn gray at the roots and I’ve turned into a cougar crushing on someone eight years my junior – but for now, let me say it while I still mean it: I Enjoy Growing Older.

So on the 10th of last month, that’s exactly what I did. I turned eight-and-twenty quietly and happily.

Call it being grounded and well-adjusted or, on the other end of the spectrum, cuckoo and messed up. Perhaps I’m seeing life through rose-colored glasses because it’s been kind to me lately. Or maybe I don’t know what I’m talking about after all. Even as I write this post, there’s this teeny, crabby voice inside my head saying, “Growing older, you say? Duh. You’re just 28 and you think you’ve got it all figured out, eh? What do you know about growing older?!?”

Hmm. What do I know about growing older? Not much, I admit. But this year, growing older for me meant mastering the art of giving joyfully. The past year gave me opportunities to…

treat good friends to a walking tour of Intramuros

 

sponsor grades 1, 2 and 3 pads for a friend's outreach program last Christmas

 

drop no less than P100 into the offertory basket each and every time I go to mass

 

take my parents on an all-expense-paid trip to Bohol

 

teach Math and English to kids in Gawad Kalinga - Nestlé Village, Baseco

 

help a good friend produce an independent film that's so exquisite, it's in a class all its own

 

make an AVP (with siblings) with which to surprise our parents on their 30th anniversary

 

be a facilitator in a leadership convention for college students

 

But hey, one thing growing older has taught me is that I have to be just as generous to myself, so on that front, I’ve given myself lots of time to…

get started on writing for writing's sake again

 

travel alone for the first time

 

explore and experience my country: Corregidor, Taal Volcano, Zambales

Batad, Bohol, Mt. Pinatubo, Cebu

Dumaguete, Siquijor, Sagada

 

spend more time with family and friends

 

work on realizing one of my life dreams

 

celebrate the sweet life with cakes given by family and friends: Purple Oven's Chocolate Campfire, Mary Grace's Velvet Cake, Red Ribbon's Classic Chocolate Cake, Red Ribbon's Chocolate Mousse, and Cara Mia's Banana Blast Gelato Cake

 

So again, what do I know about growing older? Aside from learning how to be a cheerful giver, not much indeed. I can ramble on and on about having experienced winning and losing and trying again and all those requisite -ings one gets bombarded with too often so I can sound more learned on the subject, but what would be the point?

For me, it’s as simple as this: I love living life awake and aware and well, I can’t do that without aging so I might as well take pleasure in that, too.

And that’s how I know I’ve gotten older indeed. Because that last bit I just wrote… that’s a very grown-up thing to say, no? =p

7 Comments to “Turning Eight-and-Twenty”

  1. What a journey :) wonderful post :)

  2. and you’ve definitely become a dear friend to some people who used to consider you only as a strict teacher. kidding! :) wuhoo i’m in this nice post! HAHA!

  3. I completely forgot about your blog. Then today I googled myself, and I saw this again! I miss you, Donna!

Leave a Reply

