The Failed Pagdadalaga (Blossoming) of Donalyne Cielolyne

by misslampa

Last week, I realized that a Pick-up Line Fail can make me forget a cute guy’s name. Even if we’ve been introduced more than a year ago, and even if I actually made it a point to remember his name because I was going to write this blog post. :-)

Funny how I’ve been racking my brains for his name for more two hours now, but all that comes up is a last name. And well, how can you convince yourself that you’re still crushing on this guy if that’s all your brain cells can recall, right?

Of course, I still remember his puppy eyes, lanky built and the fact that he’s too young for me. This is really just one of those harmless crushes you openly admit in public since you’re certain nothing will come out of it. But he playfully played along one evening, when we met at a friend’s birthday dinner sometime last week.

 

Common friend: Tabi na kayo ni [insert guy’s name here]. Diba sabi mo, cute siya?

Me: *smiles to play it cool* Okay. *slides into the couch and settles between him and our common friend*

Common friend: Donna, you remember [insert guy’s name here], right?

Me: Yeah. *looks at the guy* Hello. *smiles*

Guy: Hello. *smiles back*

Common friend: Ingat ka diyan.

Me: *smiles weakly at the guy, grabs on my bag, then looks back at common friend* Bakit, mandurukot ba ‘to? Ilalayo ko ba dapat gamit ko?

—–

Common friend: You can sit beside [insert guy’s name here]. You think he’s cute, right?

Me: *smiles to play it cool* Okay. *slides into the couch and settles between him and our common friend*

Common friend: Donna, you remember [insert guy’s name here], right?

Me: Yeah. *looks at the guy* Hello. *smiles*

Guy: Hello. *smiles back*

Common friend: Be on guard when you’re around him.

Me: *smiles weakly at the guy, grabs on my bag, then looks back at common friend* Why, does he steal things? Should I keep my bag as far from him as possible?

 

And then the guy, bless his kind soul, dropped the line that wiped his first name from my memory:

 

Guy: Hindi naman gamit ang dinudukot ko e. *pauses for dramatic effect, since every teenybopper moment calls for such a moment* Puso.

—–

Guy: It’s not things that I steal, you know. *pauses for dramatic effect, since every teenybopper moment calls for such a moment* I steal hearts.

 

Now tell me, how does one recover from something as cheesy as that? Even my brain chooses to forget his name in protest. LOL. And here I was thinking I graduated from high school eons ago.=D

 

Postscript Thanks to Facebook and my lack of EQ, his name is back in my memory bank. I’m partly OC  and can’t forgive myself for forgetting something I told myself I’d remember, you see, so I looked him up. But alas, the puppy eyes weren’t as tantalizing anymore.^^

Leave a Reply

