Realizations after Watching “Up!” (for the nth time Ü)

by misslampa

A friend played a song from the OST of DisneyPixar’s Up! while I was hitching a ride in his car a couple of nights back, and since everything about Up! makes me want to watch the film again, I decided to…well, watch the film once more.Ü

 

 

Don’t laugh, but I cried like a baby again – thrice – throughout the entire film. (Okay, you can laugh now.) I mean, how can you not be wistful after reading something like this?

Translated to English, this would read "Thanks for the adventure. Now go have one of your own. Love, Ellie"

 

 

I still think it’s the most amazing love story of all time,  but please don’t tell my students I said that. I’m an English and literature teacher, you see, and if they find out about this…it’ll be doubly difficult to make them read and struggle with and finish reading Shakespeare! My credibility is on the line, okay, so shhh…

 

 

And yup, I still think Russell is the most adorable boy on earth (and since I’m also fat and nerdy, I can totally relate to him, too).

I've convinced myself that Russell is based on bookish, clumsy, chubby old me. They just made him a boy in the hopes that I wouldn't catch on. Fat chance, Disney-Pixar.

 

 

But what I was half-surprised, half-pleased to have stumbled upon – after watching the film this time around – was that undeniable, irrepressible, unmistakable feeling that hey, I do want to find that one person who’ll turn out to be my own spirit of adventure after all. I long to know that Carl-and-Ellie-Fredricksen kind of love. Picnics by the tree on top a hill, that DIY white mailbox with names and handprints, cleaning the house, dreaming big dreams, shedding tears, holding hands, greying hair, toothless smiles, the works. And one day, I will.

 

 

A  decade ago, I wanted to be dead at 55. And up until late 2007 / early 2008, I wasn’t even sure I wanted to consider getting married. Then now I’m sending this message to the universe. So much for not confusing the cosmos with mixed signals, right?

 

 

Oh well. No wonder he’s taking so long. ^^


 

 

Images taken from:

http://heckyeahup.tumblr.com/post/293115472/elainecarag-carl-and-ellie-3

http://jimhillmedia.com/editor_in_chief1/b/jim_hill/archive/2009/05/13/say-yup-to-up-pixar-s-latest-is-a-charming-mix-of-heartbreak-hope-and-hilarity.aspx

http://media.photobucket.com/image/russell+Up+/psu351/Russell-Up.jpg

10 Comments to “Realizations after Watching “Up!” (for the nth time Ü)”

  1. There are so many strong messages about the movie, married couples who are successful always fulfill each other’s dreams right? :)

    • I know, Andy! The film touches on so many themes and works on so many levels…family, love, letting go, moving on, looking back, going for what you’ve set out to do, knowing when to stop trying… I can go on and on but I’ll just shut up now so as to not bore you. :-)

  2. Typo: Picnics by the tree on top *of* a hill (I’m OC like this, hehe.)

  3. I haven’t seen the film but already know it’s a treat, and you’ve confirmed it! And it’s not OCD to want to be accurate!

  4. i haven’t seen this movie yet, and the french bit just made me want to watch it even more now. any file/dvd i could borrow from you? :D

  5. I have yet to see this movie, but this entry makes me want to. I got married a few months ago, and a few months before that I wouldn’t have expected to want to be married, especially any time soon. But it’s been great. One of the first times we hung out he took a wrong turn and told me “We’re not lost, we’re on an adventure.” Since then I’ve taken to calling some of the things we do adventures. So far, the only out of the ordinary one we’ve had was when I took him white water rafting the month after we moved. But we’re about to be moving to Germany so I’m sure we’ll have many more, which is why I started my blog Overseas Adventures.

    • Thanks for dropping by, Amanda. :-) You should make time for it, especially if you and your hubby are the type of couple who takes on life as if it’s a big adventure. (Well, it really is!) I hope yo read about your adventures overseas in the coming months. I dropped by your blog and saw your cute dogs. :-)

Leave a Reply

